PK +92 334 5662119

First total solar eclipse in 99 years casts shadow on US

First total solar eclipse in 99 years casts shadow on US first total solar eclipse in 99 years casts shadow on us first total solar eclipse in 99 years casts shadow on us

On Monday, August 21, 2017, a total solar eclipse, frequently referred to as the "Great American Eclipse", was visible within a band across the entire contiguous United States passing from the Pacific to the Atlantic coasts. In other countries, it was visible only as a partial eclipse.

A solar eclipse occurs when the Moon passes between Earth and the Sun, thereby totally or partly obscuring the image of the Sun for a viewer on Earth. A total solar eclipse occurs when the Moon's apparent diameter is larger than the Sun's, blocking all direct sunlight, turning day into darkness. Totality occurs in a narrow path across Earth's surface, with the partial solar eclipse visible over a surrounding region thousands of kilometers wide.

The previous time a total solar eclipse was visible across the entire contiguous United States was June 8, 1918; not since the February 1979 eclipse has a total eclipse been visible from anywhere in the mainland United States. The path of totality touched 14 states, although a partial eclipse was visible in all 50 states. The area of the path of totality was about 16% of the area of the United States, although most of this area is ocean, not land. The event's shadow began to cover land on the Oregon coast as a partial eclipse at 4:05 p.m. UTC (9:05 a.m. PDT), with the total eclipse beginning there at 5:16 p.m. UTC (10:16 a.m. PDT); the total eclipse's land coverage ended along the South Carolina coast at about 6:44 p.m. UTC (2:44 p.m. EDT). Visibility as a partial eclipse in Honolulu, Hawaii began with sunrise at 4:20 p.m. UTC (6:20 a.m. HST) and ended by 5:25 p.m. UTC (7:25 a.m. HST).

Whatsapp

Related Blogs

Online Shopping Cart Website for GamesTronix launched with online payment option

Book your tour to Swat from our designed website paradisetourandtravels.com

Beautiful one page responsive CMS website for Raihana Al Jaleel

Website Completed and Launched on camco.com.pk

How to configure ftp account from Filezilla

Pakistan's normal 3G speed one of least in world at 3.33Mbps